Pachelbel: The Complete Organ Works, Volume 7

Pachelbel: The Complete Organ Works, Volume 7


Artist: Antoine Bouchard

Composer: Johann Pachelbel

Format: 1 CD


sold out
Add To Cart

Much of Pachelbel's organ music was intended for service use. It is important to remember that Luther's religious practice was articulated around two matching places of prayer: the church for the parish community, and the home for the family. Families came together each day around the head of the household to hold a domestic worship service that mirrored the Sunday service led by the Pastor. In both places chorales were sung, with their numerous verses that provided both instruction and support for meditation. Any instrument, perhaps an oboe or a violin, could be used to give the starting note and support the voices. This is why the works of Pachelbel, and of many of his contemporaries, include chorale preludes that do not require the use of organ with pedals and can be played on household keyboard instruments such as small virginals. [To be continued…]

—Gilles Cantagrel

Track List

1. Ciaccona in D Major 10:10

2. Hexachordum Apollinis: Aria quinta in A Minor 10:16

3. Prelude in A Major 1:10

4. Ricercar in F - Sharp Minor 3:59

5. Fugue in A Major 2:10

6. Ach Gott vom Himmel, sieh darein (version 1) 2:07

7. Ach Gott vom Himmel, sieh darein (version 2) 5:53

8. Es spricht der Unweisen Mund wohl (version 1) 1:45

9. Es spricht der Unweisen Mund wohl (version 2) 4:51

10. Freu dich sehr, o meine Seele 6:50

Magnificat Septi Toni, 8 Fugues on the 7th Tone in C Minor
11. Fugue VII - 1 1:25
12. Fugue VII - 2 2:03
13. Fugue VII - 3 1:36
14. Fugue VII - 4 1:54
15. Fugue VII - 5 1:25
16. Fugue VII - 6 1:51
17. Fugue VII - 7 1:57
18. Fugue VII - 8 1:53

Total time: 63:15
Release date: 1999
UPC: 053479319623