Pachelbel: The Complete Organ Works, Volume 5

Pachelbel: The Complete Organ Works, Volume 5


Artist: Antoine Bouchard

Composer: Johann Pachelbel

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

Pachelbel's secular output consisted of around twenty harpsichord suites, sets of variations and various instrumental works. As a parish musician, though, the bulk of this work was written for church services, in particular Mass and Vespers, in which both singers and instrumentalists took part. Around 26 motets, 19 spiritual songs, 13 magnificats, spiritual concerts and masses have survived. Like both Schütz and Buxtehude, Pachelbel liked to experiment with various instrumental configurations, from the smallest—voice, two violins and continuo - to the most grandiose. The spiritual concert Lober den Herrn in seinem Heiligtum (Praise the Lord in his Sanctuary) is scored for five voices, two flutes, bassoon, five trumpets, trombone, drums, cymbals, harp, two violins, three violas, continuo and organ. However, it is Pachelbel's organ music that takes pride of place in his production, since the surviving corpus is one of the most extensive of the period, twice the size of Buxtehude's, and evidence of other lost works has been found. [To be continued…] 

—Gilles Cantagrel

Track List

1. Arietta in F Major (POP 7)
2. Prelude in d Minor (POP 256)
3. Fugue in d Minor (POP 141)
4. Toccata in g Minor (POP 284)
5. Fugue in G Major (POP 142)
6. Toccata in C Major (POP 273)
7. Fugue in C Major (POP 132)
8. Chorale Prelude "Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr" (POP 25)
9. Chorale Prelude "Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr" (POP 26)
10. Chorale Prelude "Wir glauben all' an einen Gott" (POP 89)
11. Chorale Prelude "Gott der Vater wohn' uns bei" (POP 51)
12. Chorale Variations "Ach, was soll ich Sünder machen" (POP 105)

Magnificat quinti toni
13. Fugue 1 (POP 203)
14. Fugue 2 (POP 204) 
15. Fugue 3 (POP 205)
16. Fugue 4 (POP 206)
17. Fugue 5 (POP 207)
18. Fugue 6 (POP 208)
19. Fugue 7 (POP 209) 
20. Fugue 8 (POP 210)
21. Fugue 9 (POP 211)
22. Fugue 10 (POP 212)
23. Fugue 11 (POP 213)
24. Fugue 12 (POP 214)
Total Program Length 71:40

Liturgical convenience for Trinity: Tracks 8-11.

Total time: 72:34
Release date: 1999
UPC: 053479318824