Pachelbel: The Complete Organ Works, Volume 10

Pachelbel: The Complete Organ Works, Volume 10


Artist: Antoine Bouchard

Composer: Johann Pachelbel

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

The fugues and ricercares reflect the growing interest of Baroque musicians in the learned world of dialogue and formal elaboration, and their tendency to underline the theatrical aspect of the musical discourse through the development of a single underlying motif, the "subject"—at a time when, following the work of Descartes, the focus was on the complexity of the "thinking subject." In his three ricercares, Pachelbel provides an impressive demonstration of his compositional skill, applied with more freedom in his fugues, which include twenty six isolated fugues and no less than ninety five fugues on the Magnificat (in fact, these fugues were for use with the German Magnificat, or were based on free themes, rather than on actual themes of the Magnificat). They create a marvelous world of sound and poetry and display Pachelbel's never-failing powers of invention.

—Gilles Cantagrel

Track List

1. Aria in A Minor     7:48
2. Prelude in E-Flat Major     1:36
3. Toccata and Fugue in B-Flat Major     3:02
4. Fantasia in G Minor     3:35
5. Fugue in C Major     1:48
6. Fugue in C Major      :59
7. Fugue in C Major     1:03
8. Fantasia in A Minor     1:51
9. Fugue in A Minor     2:21
10. Fantasia in D Minor     3:11
11. Fugue in B Minor     3:24
12. Toccata in E Minor     2:05
13. Fugue in E Minor     3:27
14. Toccata in C Major     2:31
15. Fugue in C Major     2:43
16. Toccata in D Major     1:34
17. Fugue in D Major     2:27
18. Herr Gott, dich loben alle wir     2:07
19. Ich ruf' zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ (version 1)     3:11
20. Ich ruf' zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ (version 2)     4:33
21. In dich hab' ich gehoffet, Herr     1:41
22. Meine Seele erhebt den Herren (version 1)     1:23
23. Meine Seele erhebt den Herren (version 2)     1:13
24. Nun freut euch, lieben Christen g'mein     2:42
25. Nun lob, mein' Seel', den Herren     2:27

Liturgical convenience for prayer of praise and gratitude: Tracks 18-25

Total time: 64:35
Release date: 1999
UPC: 053479321626