Custer LaRue Sings The Daemon Lover

Custer LaRue Sings The Daemon Lover


Artists: Custer LaRue, The Baltimore Consort

Composers: Traditional

Format: 1 CD


sold out
Add To Cart

Personnel: Custer LaRue (vocals).

The Baltimore Consort: Ronn McFarlane (lute), Mark Cudek (cittern, baroque guitar, plucked bass viol), Mary Anne Ballard (treble viol, bass viol), Larry Lipkis (bass viol, gemshorn), Chris Norman (wooden flute, cauld wind pipes, drum).

Engineers: Craig D. Dory, Douglas Brown, David H. Walters, Brian C. Peters.

Recorded at Troy Savings Bank Music Hall, Troy, New York in May, 1992. Includes liner notes by Mary Anne Ballard and Custer LaRue.

Custer LaRue Sings The Daemon Lover contains traditional folk songs and ballads from England, Scotland and America. Also includes a 20 page booklet with an introduction by Custer Larue, biographies of both Custer Larue and The Baltimore Consort, song histories and bibliographies as well as track-by-track annotations.

Just about everything that Custer LaRue performs turns out beautifully, and that's certainly the case again with her 1993 release, The Daemon Lover. LaRue's glorious soprano is in fine form on the title song (which may be better known to some as "The House Carpenter") and, indeed, all throughout the album. From "Fare Ye Well, Lovely Nancy" to "Queen Jane" to "The Ash Grove," it's sure to please fans of folk ballads with its authentic historical sound, and is definitely recommended. —Murray Fisher, AllMusic

Track List

1. The House Carpenter "The Daemon Lover"
2. Binnorie "The Twa Sisters"
3. Farewell to Tarwathie
4. Fare ye well, lovely Nancy
5. Lord Ronald
6. The Cuckoo
7. Geordie
8. The Fox Went Out on a Chilly Night
9. Queen Jane
10. Sprig of thyme
11. Edward
12. The Ash Grove
13. Early One Morning
14. Jesus Born in Bethlea
15. The Carnal and the Crane
16. Lulle, Lullay

Total time: 62:15
Release date: August 2, 1993
UPC: 053479017420