The Mad Buckgoat

The Mad Buckgoat

7.99 13.99

Artist: The Baltimore Consort

Composers: Various

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

Mary Anne Ballard — treble and bass viols, rebec
Mark Cudek
cittern, Baroque guitar, tenor viol, tenor recorder
Custer LaRue
Larry Lipkis
viol, soprano recorder
Ronn McFarlane
Chris Norman
wooden flutes, bagpipe

The initial spark for this program was a landmark publication called A Collection of the Most Celebrated Irish Tunes, published in Dublin in 1724 by John & William Neal. One of the earliest documents of the rich and thriving Irish musical tradition, it was the very first collection of exclusively Irish music to emerge in print or manuscript.

Track List

1. The Mad Buckgoat (Poc Air Buille) - J.E. Pigot Collection, c.1840-50
2. Willie Winkie - Pigot, c.1840-50 
3. Truagh (An Triúcha) - J. & W. Neal, Celebrated Irish Tunes, 1724
4. The Beggar (An Bockagh) - Ruairí Dall Ó Catháin, c.1650 
5. Bugga Fee Hoosa (Bogadh Faoi Shúsa) - William Forde Collection, c.1840-50
6. Girls, Have You Seen George? (A Chailíní, A'bhFaca Sibh Seóirse) - Edward Bunting, Ancient Irish Music, 1796
7. Toss the Feathers (A Clare reel from Frank Keane) - Stanford/Petrie, Irish Music, 1902
8. The Fairy Dance. A Reel - P.W. Joyce Old Irish Folk Music, 1909 
9. The Pretty Maid Milking her Cow (Cailín Deas Crúite Na mBó) - Colm O Lochlainn, Irish Street Ballads, 1939
10. The Fidler's Contemt - Ruairí Dall Ó Cathaín
11. The Kerry Star. A Reel - P. Carew's MS, 19th c.
12. The Goroum. A Reel - P. Carew's MS, 19th c. 
13. Wild Geese (Gye Fiane) - Neal, 1724 
14. Yonder, Westwards, is the Road She Went (Súd É Siar An Ród A D'Imthigh Sí) - Neal, 1724
15. The Old Woman's Hornpipe - Forde, c.1840-50
16. Your Old Wig is the Love of My Heart (Gradh Mo Chroidhe Do Shean Wig) - Pigot, c.1840-50
17. Dwyer's Hornpipe - Joyce, 1909 
18. Catty Magee (Caití Na gCuach) - Neal, 1724
19. Kitty Magee - Anon. MS book of dance tunes, c.1750
20. Billy from Bruff - Jack Sheedy, Bruff, Limerick, 1849
21. The Pigot Jig - Pigot, c.1840-50

Total time: 60:10
Release date: October 12, 1999
UPC: 053479027924

You always can count on the Baltimore Consort to provide a solid hour of engaging, lively, musical fun and enlightenment with each new recording.
— David Vernier,

More from Sono Luminus