Wings of Wisdom

Wings of Wisdom


Artist: Canty

Composer: Hildegard von Bingen

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

Additional performers: Libby Crabtree (mezzo-soprano), Ruth Dean (soprano), Anne Lewis (mezzo-soprano), Rebecca Taverner (soprano and bells), William Taylor (harps and symphony (medieval hurdy-gurdy))

Scotland and the Rhineland, besides being ancestral homelands of the Celts, share a spiritual heritage from the wandering Irish holy men who took Christianity to some of the most obscure corners of Europe. In Scotland's case the missionary concerned was the celebrated St. Columba, a saint much honoured in his own lifetime and ever since. The man who evangelised the pagan tribes of the Rhineland, however, remains much more of a mystery. That peripatetic priest was St. Disibod, an Irish bishop whose life and works have been recorded for posterity solely by the pen of the remarkable Abbess Hildegard of Bingen who entered the religious life, enclosed with the anchoress Jutta in the walls of the Benedictine monastery of Disibodenburg, dedicated to that same, now obscure, Irish saint.

—Rebecca Taverner

Track List

1. O virtus sapientiae     1:48
2. O viriditas digiti Dei     5:07
3. O presul vere digitatis     6:42
4. O ecclesia (Instrumental)     2:38
5. Caritas abundat     1:39
6. O dulcissime amator (Symphonia virginum)     7:38
7. O aeterne Deus     1:53
8. O coruscant lux     2:49
9. O viridissima virga (Instrumental)     2:07
10. Cum erubuerint & O quam magnum miraculum est     4:58
11. O clarissima mater     8:06

From the Inchcolm Antiphoner
12. O Columba insignis signifer     2:41
13. Os mutorum     1:40
14. Ave sanctorum Columba piissime     3:59
15. Carne solutus pater Columba     3:35

Total time: 57:34
Release date: 2000
UPC: 053479323224

More from Sono Luminus