J. S. Bach: The Six Sonatas For Violin & Harpsichord, Volume Two

J. S. Bach: The Six Sonatas For Violin & Harpsichord, Volume Two

2.99 13.99

Artist: Micaela Comberti (Baroque violin), Colin Tilney (harpsichord)

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

Forkel's life of Bach was finally published in 1802, more than half a century after Bach's death. In it, following a long eulogy of Bach's genius and achievements, Forkel gives a list of the composer's music, first the engraved works and then the unpublished manuscripts, in the second category, at the head of Bach's chamber works and harpsichord concertos, he places the violin sonatas he had received from Emanuel. "Six Sonatas for the clavier with the accompaniment of violin obbligato. They were composed at Cöthen and may be reckoned among Bach's first masterpieces in this field.”

—Colin Tilney

Track List

Sonata No. 4 in C Minor, BWV 1017
1. Largo
2. Allegro
3. Adagio
4. Allegro

Sonata No. 5 in F Minor, BWV 1018
5. (Largo)
6. Allegro
7. Adagio
8. Vivace

Suite in E-flat Major, BWV 819a
9. Allemande
10. Courante
11. Sarabande
12. Bourrée
13. Menuet 1/Menuet 2

Sonata No. 6 in G Major, BWV 1019
14. Allegro
15. Largo
16. Allegro (harpsichord solo)
17. Adagio
18. Allegro

19. Cantabile, ma un poco Adagio, BWV 1019a

Total time: 71:46
Release date: 2000
UPC: 053479323422