J. S. Bach: The Six Sonatas For Violin & Harpsichord, Volume One

J. S. Bach: The Six Sonatas For Violin & Harpsichord, Volume One

2.99 13.99

Artist: Micaela Comberti (Baroque violin), Colin Tilney (harpsichord)

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

In October 1774, Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach sent Johann Nikolaus Forkel, who was slowly gathering material for a biography of J. S. Bach, a parcel of his father's music. It contained eleven "Trii," some organ pieces with a pedal part, the variations on "Vom Himmel hoch" and a covering note. "The six Clavier trios—[violin sonatas, but notice Emanuel's choice of words]—are among my departed father's best works. They still sound splendid and give me much pleasure, although they were written more than fifty years ago. Some of their slow movements ("Adagii") could not be set more lyrically even today. I beg you, as the scores are very tattered, to take good care of them.” The other five "trios" were presumably the two for flute in B minor and A major (BWV 1030) The word "trio" was a normal eighteenth century description for a three-voice piece with the second melody line taken by the keyboard right hand—“violin sonata" would imply a solo violin with harpsichord continuo.

—Colin Tilney

Track List

Sonata No. 1 in B Minor, BWV 1014
1. Adagio
2. Allegro
3. Andante
4. Allegro

Sonata No. 2 in A Major, BWV 1015
5. (Adagio) - dolce
6. Allegro
7. Andante un poco
8. Presto

Suite in A Minor, BWV 818a
9. (Prelude)
10. Allemande
11. Courante
12. Sarabande
13. Menuet
14. Giga

Sonata No. 3 in E Major, BWV 1016
15. Adagio
16. Allegro
17. Adagio ma non tanto
18. Allegro

Total time: 59:06
Release date: 2000
UPC: 053479323323