The Romantic Mass

The Romantic Mass

6.99 13.99

Artist: Saint Clement’s Choir, Peter Richard Conte (director)

Composers: Johannes Brahms, Josef Rheinberger

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

In the midst of the nineteenth century's musical quest for newness and bold self-expression, Joseph Rheinberger (1839-1901) was a composer who, musically, looked both forward and backward. Although he flourished during a time in music history when tremendous innovations and new musical vocabularies were emerging, Rheinberger remained true to his own more conservative nature. Like Rheinberger, Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) was a composer who found artistic inspiration in music of the past.

—Elinor Adams Armsby

Track List

Joseph Rheinberger (1839-1901)
Cantus Missae, Opus 109
1. Kyrie
2. Gloria 
3. Credo
4. Sanctus
5. Benedictus 
6. Agnus Dei
7. Omnes de Saba

Drei geistliche Gesange, Opus 69
8. Morgenlied
9. Hymne
10. Abendlied
11. Ave Maria, Opus 172

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Missa Canonica (1856)
12. Kyrie
13. Sanctus
14. Benedictus
15. Agnus Dei

Three Motels, Opus 110 (1889)
16. Ich aber bin elend
17. Ach, arme Welt
18. Wenn wir in hochsten
Noten sein
19. Lafs dich nur nichts nicht dauren mit Trauren, Opus 30

Total time: 57:38
Release date: November 20, 1995
UPC: 751758013728