O Magnum Mysterium

O Magnum Mysterium


Artist: Vienna Vocal Consort, Vijay Upadhyay (director)

Composer: Giovanni Palestrina

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

Unlike many other great composers of the Renaissance, whose work lay in relative obscurity until the twentieth century, Palestrina's fame continued unabated from his lifetime to the present day. There are several reasons for this. The first is that he was, in fact, one of the greatest composers of the late Renaissance. The other is his association with the musical reforms of the Council of Trent, and the exaggerated allegation that he somehow single-handedly saved polyphonic church music.

—Angela Mariani.

Track List

1. O magnum mysterium (prima pars)     3:33
2. Quem vidistis pastores (secunda pars)     3:25
3. Ave Maria     3:43
4. Vidi turbam magnam (prima pars)     4:13
5. Et omnes Angeli (secunda pars)     3:28
6. Loquebantur variis linguis     4:14
7. Tu es Petrus     4:24

Missa O Magnum Mysterium
8. Kyrie     3:53
9. Gloria     6:20
10. Credo     9:48
11. Sanctus, Benedictus     7:33
12. Agnus Dei     4:36

Total time: 58:40
Release date: 2002
UPC: 053479325525