Telemann: Chamber Cantatas & Trio Sonatas

Telemann: Chamber Cantatas & Trio Sonatas


Artist: Musica Pacifica, Christine Brandes (soprano), Jennifer Lane (mezzo-soprano)

Composer: Georg Phillip Telemann

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

Telemann could be exuberantly grotesque and also almost inhumanly serious. He loved large and brash and sometimes outré instrumental ensembles, and wrote brilliantly for them, but he also wrote copiously for small groups and for amateurs, in the most elegant style. One or two of his cantatas were once pardonably mistaken for Bach, and one or two movements of his orchestral suites might even now be mistaken for a mid-twentieth-century composer in a puckish mood. He is, in short, rather a difficult personality to pin down.

The music on this program belongs to the simpler and more straightforward end of the Telemannian spectrum, and all dates from his first fifteen years in the employ of the City of Hamburg, an appointment he held from 1721 until his death in 1767.   That position was an arduous one, entailing (among other things) supplying the music of Hamburg's five principal churches. Telemann was responsible for two cantatas each Sunday and feast-day (that is, better than one hundred forty cantatas a year), as well as one Passion setting yearly and music for innumerable civic and occasional functions.

—Michelle Dulak

Track List

Sonata No. 6 in D Major
from “Sonates Corellisantes”
1. Pastorale: Moderato
2. Corrente: Vivace
3. Gavotta: Allegro
4. Grave
5. Vivace

Cantata No. 4 In gering- und rauhen Schalen
(Christine Brandes, soprano)
6. Aria: In gering- und rauhen Schalen
7. Recitative: O Eitelkeit
8. Aria: Nicht uns, nein, nein

Cantata No. 33 Ergeuß dich zur Salbung der schmachtenden Seele
(Jennifer Lane, mezzo-soprano)
9. Aria: Ergeuß dich zur Salbung
10. Recitative: Samaria empfing den heiligen Geist
11. Aria: Schwarzer Geist der Dunkelheit

Sonata No. 4 in E Major
from “Sonates Corellisantes”
12. Andante
13. Allemanda: Allegro
14. Largo
15. Giga: Allegro

Cantata No. 45 Durchsuche dich, O stolzer Geist
(Christine Brandes, soprano)
16. Aria: Durchsuche dich, O stolzer Geist
17. Recitative: Ach, welcher sich
18. Aria: Herr der Gnade, Gott des Lichts

Cantata No. 1 Halt ein mit deinem Wetterstrahle
(Jennifer Lane, mezzo-soprano)
19. Aria: Halt ein mit deinem Wetterstrahle
20. Recitative: Beglückte Stunden
21. Aria: Hemmet die Bäche

Cantata No. 53 Erwag’, O Mensch
(Christine Brandes, soprano)
22. Aria: Erwäg’, O Mensch
23. Recitative: Ja! wer die Süßigkeit
24. Aria: Ergetzende Ruhe begnadigter Herzen

Total time: 77:26
Release date: 2001
UPC: 053479323927