Surrounded by Angels (CD)

Surrounded by Angels (CD)


Artist: Ensemble Galilei

Composer: Anders Norudde, Sue Richards, Michael Praetorius, Melchior Vulpius, Mark Kelly, Jackie Moran, Carolyn Surrick, James Proctor Harding,
Willie Coleman, Franz Gruber

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

Captivating. Powerful. Monumentally expressive. All brilliantly displayed in the newest Christmas release from Sono Luminus, Surrounded by Angels

From the opening unison strings of “Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence” to the last note of “Silent Night”, this CD courses with the extraordinary arrangements of Ensemble Galilei, created by musicians whose musical sensibilities have been shaped by their personal histories. Each renowned in their fields – two winners of the All-Ireland Senior Championship, two winners of the U.S. National Scottish Fiddle Championship, a four-time winner of the U.S. National Scottish Harp Championship, one Fulbright Scholar – they bring phenomenal talents to bear. What comes from this wealth of experience and expertise is an astonishing recording. 

A set of whimsical Irish slip jigs follows “Greensleeves”. The uillean pipes, soulful and wild, solo on the familiar “Wexford Carol”. The violin, viola and viola da gamba transform “I Wonder as I Wander”. Each track a revelation, Ensemble Galilei has made Surrounded By Angels so rich and so deep that it transcends the genres of Irish or Scottish or Early Music. So much more than the sum of its parts, this is the recording that will stand year after year as the most beloved recording for the Christmas season.

Track List

1. Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence Picardy, French Medieval 

Konvulsionslåten — Anders Norudde 

The Celt — Sue Richards

2. Divinum Mysterium 13th century Plainsong 

Tàladh ar Slànaigheir (Christ Child Lullabye) Scottish Gaelic Carol

3. Away in the Manger (Flow Gently, Sweet Afton) — Traditional Scottish Polonessa Spoof (taught to Hanneke Cassel by Antti Järvelä)     

4. Es ist ein Ros entsprungen (I Know a Rose Tree) — Michael Praetorius (arr. by Kathryn Montoya) 

5. I Wonder as I Wander Collected by John Jacob Niles                         

6. Greensleeves — 16th Century English

7. Quelle est cette odeur agréable (Whence is that Goodly     Fragrence) — 17th Century French     

Jesu Kreuz, Leiden und Pein — Melchior Vulpius (1609) 

8. The Surround — Traditional Irish - “O’Neill’s Music of Ireland” 

Snowy Path — Mark Kelly
Half C — Jackie Moran

9. Une Vierge Pucelle — Nicolas le Bègue/Traditional French     Joseph est bien Marié — Michel Corrette/Traditional French

10. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen — 16th Century English 

Good King Wenceslas — from Piae Cantiones, pub. 1582

11. At Midnight Hour — Traditional Irish - “O’Neill’s Music of Ireland” 

Joy Be With You Traditional Irish “O’Neill’s Music of Ireland” 

12. Carol of the Birds Traditional Catalan

13. Winter’s Falling Light — Carolyn Surrick

14. The Wexford Carol — Traditional Irish Carol 

Shetland Reel — Traditional Shetland

15. Brightest and Best of the Sons of the Morning — James Proctor Harding (1892) 

Farewell to Goirtín — Willie Coleman 

16. Silent Night Franz Grüber

Total time: 57:35
Release date: August 26, 2016
UPC: 053479221025