Lift Up Your Voice: Hymns of Charles Wesley

Lift Up Your Voice: Hymns of Charles Wesley


Artist: The Choral Arts Society of Washington

Director: Scott Tucker

Composer: Charles Wesley

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

Lift Up Your Voice: Hymns of Charles Wesley is a powerful selection of Wesley Hymns to be released in both English and Spanish, as sponsored by The Wesley Heritage Foundation, Inc. (WHF). The Foundation was founded in October 1990 by Dr. and Mrs L. Elbert and Lois Wethington to translate, publish and distribute the works of John and Charles Wesley from English to Spanish. The result of that endeavor is a 14 volume set entitled Obras de Wesley. This major, scholarly publication continues to have a remarkable impact upon Spanish-speaking persons and churches of the Wesleyan tradition throughout the Americas. Obras de Wesley, edited by Justo González, includes the translations of 65 hymns written by Charles Wesley (18 December 1707 – 29 March 1788), who is among the most highly respected hymn writers of the Christian church, having written in excess of 6,000 hymns. Charles’ hymn writing was central to the reform movement within the 18th century Church of England, a movement to which he and his brother, John, gave primary leadership. The hymns of Charles Wesley convey some of the best expressions and interpretations of Wesleyan theology and spirituality, which is what made their inclusion in volume IX of Obras de Wesley essential and as part of the preparation of this recording, additional hymns of Wesley have been translated into Spanish. The poetic and musical presentation within the Spanish version of this recording contributes in a tremendous way to the continued mission of WHF which is “to promote the theology, practice and spirituality of the Wesleyan revival among Spanish speakers”. The English version of the recording is equally a vital contribution to the global Wesleyan community. Both the Spanish and English versions have been produced in celebration of the 25th Anniversary of the Wesley Heritage Foundation. More information can be found at 


Founded in 1965 by Artistic Director Emeritus Norman Scribner (1936–2015), The Choral Arts Society of Washington stands out as a leader among its peers, earning awards, not only for its artistic excellence, but its administrative leadership and educational portfolio. In its 50 years Choral Arts established, and now maintains, a dedication to excellence. Under the leadership of Artistic Director Scott Tucker and Executive Director Debra L. Kraft, Choral Arts receives frequent invitations to perform with the National Symphony Orchestra and other world-class orchestras, including London Symphony, The Philadelphia Orchestra, and the Mariinsky Orchestra.

Today Choral Arts comprises two performing groups: the Choral Arts Chorus, a symphonic chorus of nearly 190 singers; and the Choral Arts Chamber Singers, a small ensemble of 30 voices launched on the occasion of Choral Arts’ 50th anniversary. The Chamber Singers were selected based on their vocal, sight-reading, and ear training abilities as well as their interest and availability. In addition to volunteering as members of both the Choral Arts Chorus and the Chamber Singers, many also volunteer for Choral Arts in other ways, including holding roles in the Choral Arts Chorus leadership and serving as members of the Board of Directors and Young Patrons Steering Committee.

Track List

  1. O For a Thousand Tongues to Sing         2:42

  2. Maker, in Whom We Live                         2:25

  3. Praise the Lord Who Reigns Above         1:54

  4. Come, Thou Long-Expecting Jesus         2:00

  5. Hark! the Herald Angels Sing                   3:02

  6. O Love Divine, What Hast Thou Done     2:25

  7. Christ the Lord is Risen Today                 2:51

  8. Lo, He Comes with Clouds Descending  3:23

  9. Spirit of Faith, Come Down                      2:56

  10. Come, Holy Ghost, Our Hearts Inspire    1:54

  11. Ye Servants of God                                  2:19

  12. Come, Sinners, to the Gospel Feast    2:33

  13. Rejoice, the Lord is King                      2:12

  14. Christ, Whose Glory Fills the Sky        1:38

  15. And Can It Be that I Should Gain         5:12

  16. Come, O Thou Traveler Unknown        1:38

  17. A Charge to Keep I Have                      5:12

  18. O For a Heart to Praise My God           2:11

  19. Forth in Thy Name, O Lord                   1:56

  20. Jesus, Lover of My Soul                       3:08

  21. Love Divine, All Loves Excelling           2:58

Total time: 55:22
Release date: November 13, 2015
UPC: 053479219626