Boyd Meets Girl

Boyd Meets Girl


Artist: Boyd Meets Girl

Composers: Jamie Zenamon, Gabriel Faure, Johann Sebastian Bach, Ross Edwards,  Radomes Gnattall, Astor Piazzola, Manuel de Falla, Arvo Part, Steve Porcaro, John Bettis

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

 “Our debut album is a lovingly curated musical journey, encompassing both our shared perspective on beloved works and relatively unknown repertoire we believe is equally deserving of attention. This album features our own arrangements, including a reduction of Faure's adored Pavane from its orchestral original, and Bach's solo keyboard inventions re-imagined on cello and guitar. These are presented alongside contemporary works, including a colorful three movement piece by Bolivian composer Jaime Zenamon, and the debut recording of Arafura Arioso by esteemed Australian composer Ross Edwards. The entire album is designed to highlight the range and of timbral possibilities of this under explored instrumental pairing. Our collaboration began as a romantic relationship in 2012. We are now happily married and live in New York City.”

—Rupert Boyd & Laura Metcalf

Track List

Jaime Zenamon (b. 1953)
Reflexões No. 6
1. I. Fluido     3:05
2. II. Doloroso     4:38
3. III. Vivissimo     2:44

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
(arr. R. Boyd/L. Metcalf)
4. Pavane, Op. 50     4:11

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
(arr. R. Boyd/L. Metcalf)
Two-Part Inventions
5. No. 8 in F Major, BWV 779     0:56
6. No. 10 in G Major, BWV 781     0:56
7. No. 6 in E Major, BWV 777     2:03
8. No. 13 in A Minor, BWV 784     1:12

Ross Edwards (b. 1943)
9. Arafura Arioso     6:01

Radamés Gnattali (1906-1988)
10. Allegretto Comodo     4:33

Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)
(arr. R. Boyd/L. Metcalf)
11. Café 1930     6:46

Manuel de Falla (1876-1946)
(arr. R. Boyd/L. Metcalf)
Siete Canciones
Populares Españolas

12. I. El paño moruno     1:14
13. II. Seguidilla murciana     1:18
14. III. Asturiana     2:35
15. IV. Jota     3:23
16. V. Nana     1:46
17. VI. Canción     1:06
18. VII. Polo     1:34

Arvo Pärt (b. 1935)
(arr. R. Boyd/L. Metcalf)
19. Spiegel im Spiegel     8:29

Steve Porcaro (b. 1957)
John Bettis (b. 1946)
(arr. R. Boyd/L. Metcalf)
20. Human Nature     2:43

Total time: 61:03
Release date: July 28, 2018
UPC: 053479221728

More from Sono Luminus