Beau Soir: Préludes Book II & Other Works

Beau Soir: Préludes Book II & Other Works


Artist: Michael Lewin

Composer: Claude Debussy

Format: 1 CD and 1 PureAudio Blu-Ray


Add To Cart

Sono Luminus is proud to announce the latest project from Michael Lewin, Beau Soir: Préludes Book II & Other Works. It is a collection of popular works from one of the world’s favorite composers with his complete second book of préludes following the popular and critical success of Piano Phantoms (DSL-92168). This is the rst time this music has been presented in stunning high-resolution stereo and surround sound on Pure Audio Blu-ray (standard CD included in the package).

Michael Lewin enjoys a distinguished international reputation as one of America’s most abundantly gifted and charismatic concert pianists, performing to acclamation in 30 countries. Commanding a repertoire of 40 piano concertos, Michael Lewin has appeared as soloist with the Netherlands Philharmonic, Cairo Symphony, Bucharest ‘Enescu’ Philharmonic, Filharmónica Jalisco de Guadalajara, State Symphony of Greece, the Boston Pops, Moscow Chamber Orchestra, the Symphonies of Phoenix, Indianapolis, Miami, Colorado, Nevada, West Virginia, Puerto Rico, Illinois, North Carolina, Sinfonia da Camera, and the Youth Orchestra of the Americas. He has premiered two Concertos by David Kocsis and performed Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue over 50 times.

Lewin’s career was launched with top prizes in the Franz Liszt International Piano Competition in the Netherlands, the American Pianists Association Award and the William Kapell International Competition. Following his notable New York recital debut in Lincoln Center, The New York Times wrote that “his immense technique and ability qualify him eminently for success.” Since then he has concertized widely in solo recital, with orchestras, and as a chamber musician.

This recording will be followed up by a recording to be done in 2014 which will have Préludes Book I and more Debussy favorites.

Track List

1. Beau soir (arr. for piano)     3:19
2. L'isle joyeuse     6:02
3. Children's Corner: V. The Little Shepherd     2:46
4. Danse, "Tarantelle syrienne"     5:00
5. Elegie     2:08
6. 12 Etudes: No. 5. Pour les octaves (For octaves)     2:54
7. Valse romantique     3:31
8. La plus que lente     4:31

Preludes, Book 2
9. No. 1. Brouillards     3:11
10. No. 2. Feuilles mortes     2:57
11. No. 3. La puerta del vino     3:06
12. No. 4. Les fees sont d'exquises danseuses     3:02
13. No. 5. Bruyeres     3:09
14. No. 6. General Lavine - eccentric     2:48
15. No. 7. La terrasse des audiences du clair de lune     4:26
16. No. 8. Ondine     3:19
17. No. 9. Hommage a S. Pickwick Esq. P.P.M.P.C     2:27
18. No. 10. Canope     3:10
19. No. 11. Les tierces alternees     2:34
20. No. 12. Feux d'artifice     4:45

Total time: 69:05
Release date: 2014
UPC: 053479217523