A Change of Worlds

A Change of Worlds


Artist: Ensemble Galilei

Composer(s): Phil Cunningham, Jackie Moran, Tony Sullivan, James Scott Skinner, Sue Richards, Nicola Matteis, Ryan McKasson, William MacPherson, Carolyn A. Surrick, Michael Praetorius, Turlough O’Carolan

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

Prepare to be musically transported by A Change of Worlds, the latest release from Ensemble Galilei and Sono Luminus. Through the unique combination of old Irish tunes, traditional American folk melodies, and inspired original selections, A Change of Worlds transcends a myriad of musical genres.

Comprised of very talented and capable members who are both classically trained and traditional musicians, Ensemble Galilei brilliantly melds a wealth of technical capability with an abiding passion for ancient music. Through their infectious improvisational energy, the vibrancy of this ensemble captivates the listener, from the downbeat of the first tune, to the final chord on the album.

All of the music recorded for this CD is part of First Person: Seeing America – a collaboration between Ensemble Galilei and The Metropolitan Museum of Art. The multi-disciplinary project includes photographs from the Met, poetry and prose about America, and the music of Ensemble Galilei, and premiered in New York in October of 2010.

Track List

1.  Monday Morning Reel - O'Neill's March (arr. for chamber ensemble)

2.  1923 - Exile of Erin (arr. for chamber ensemble)

3.  Hector the Hero (arr. for chamber ensemble)

4.  Klovsjo Brudmarsch - Polska (arr. K.E. Nygard) - Slangpolska 

5.  Full Rigged Ship - Cluck Old Hen - Southern Harmony: What Wondrous Love Is This (arr. for chamber ensemble)

6.  Pretty Maid Milking the Cow (arr. for chamber ensemble)

7.  Polonaise (arr. for chamber ensemble) 

8.  No Longer Mourn for Me (arr. for chamber ensemble)

9.  Culloden (arr. for chamber ensemble)

10.  Ground upon a Scotch Humour (arr. for chamber ensemble)

11.  Jessie Smith - Athole Brose - Miss Rattray - Brumlay Brae - Pigeon on the Gate (arr. for chamber ensemble)

12.  The Salmon Tailing Up the River (arr. for chamber ensemble)

13.  The Dust Bowl (arr. for chamber ensemble)

14.  O lux beate trinitas: Te mane laudum carmine (arr. for chamber ensemble)

15.  Dream of the Wanderer (arr. for chamber ensemble)

16.  Squire Wood's Lament (arr. for chamber ensemble)

Total time: 53:15
Release date: June 2012
UPC: 053479215321

Also Available From

Apple Music



Virtuoso technique, an instinctive feeling for the idiom, and the courage to improvise...they play with energy, splendid ensemble, good humor and imagination.
— The Washington Post

More from Sono Luminus