for updates and
exclusive offers
Chausson - Symphony in B-Flat; Ibert - Escales / Divertissement

Chausson - Symphony in B-Flat; Ibert - Escales / Divertissement

Chausson - Symphony in B-Flat; Ibert - Escales / Divertissement
Artist: Dallas Symphony Orchestra
Genre: Orchestral
Price: $15.99 
In stock
Chausson's Symphony premiered on April 18, 1891, at a concert of the Société Nationale, with the composer conducting.   It received a favorable response from the audience that included a powerful contingent of supporters; however, it drew only tepid dismissal from the critics, who had little appreciation for the work of any composer associated with the bande á Franck.

Parisian Jacques Ibert found his voice in impressionistic and neo-classical techniques.   Although as a young man Ibert studied piano with his mother, and - without training in composition - composed, his first love was the theatre.   While teaching acting at the Paris Conservatoire, he began musical studies with Pessard, Fuaré and Gedalge at the age of twenty.   After World War I service in the French Navy, he studied with Paul Vidal and Paris' most popular compositional matriach, Nadia Boulanger.   In 1919 he won the coveted Prix de Rome and established a three year residence at the Villa Medici in Rome.
- J. Knighten-Smit

Dallas Symphony Orchestra
Eduardo Mata - Conductor


Ernest Chausson
Jacques Ibert

Ernest Chausson (1855-1899)
Symphony in B-Flat, Op. 20 (1890)
1. Lento; Allegro vivo
2. Trés lent; Un Peu plus vite
3. Animé; très animé

Jacques Ibert (1890-1962)
Escales (Ports of Call) (1922)
4. Palérmo: Calme
5. Tunis: Modéré très rythmé
6. Valencia: Animé

Divertissement (1930)
7. Introduction: Allegro vivo
8. Cortège: Moderato molto
9. Nocturne: Lento
10. Valse: Animato assai
11. Parade: Tempo di marcia
12. Finale: Quasi cadenza

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.