for updates and
exclusive offers
Brahms - Piano Trio No. 1 in B Major;  Dvorák - Piano Trio in E Minor

Brahms - Piano Trio No. 1 in B Major;  Dvorák - Piano Trio in E Minor

Brahms - Piano Trio No. 1 in B Major; Dvorák - Piano Trio in E Minor "Dumky"
Artist: Rembrandt Trio, The
Genre: Chamber
Price: $15.99 
In stock
Brahms was perhaps the most self-critical of the great composers.   It is well known that he destroyed many more works than he published.   Perhaps twenty string quartets preceded the three that he eventually brought forth as his Op. 51 and 67, and his first Symphony, not premiered until 1876, was the product of twenty years' labor and many discarded preliminary attempts (some of which, however, wound up in other of his compositions).   It is therefore no surprise that in 1889, when his publisher, Simrock, desired to bring out a new edition of his Trio in B, he used the opportunity to thoroughly revise the work.

Perhaps the most important Slavonic (as distinct from purely Bohemian) element in Dvorák's music is the dumka, derived from Ukranian folk music (dumka is the diminutive form of duma, itself derived from the verb "to ponder" ).   Originally descriptive of epic narrative, the term, especially the diminutive, came to mean a lament either sung or played.   The nineteenth century saw the revival of the dumka in instrumental works and dumky (the plural of dumka) were frequently employed by Ukrainian, and many Russian, composers.
- Dennis D. Rooney

The Rembrandt Trio


Johannes Brahms
Antonín Dvorák

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Piano Trio No. 1, in B Major, Op. 8

1. Allegro con brio
2. Scherzo: Allegro molto
3. Adagio
4. Adagio

Antonín Dvorák (1841-1904)
Piano Trio in E Minor "Dumky", Op. 90

5. Lento maestoso
6. Poco adagio
7. Andante
8. Andante moderato
9. Allegro
10. Lento maestoso

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.