for updates and
exclusive offers
Marc Antonio e Cleopatra

Show Picture 1Show Picture 2

Marc Antonio e Cleopatra

Marc Antonio e Cleopatra
Artist: Ars Lyrica
Genre: Chamber, Vocal, Baroque, Multi-Disc
Price: $19.99 
In stock

 Sono Luminus invites you to a night at the opera with this 2 CD release of Adolf Hasse’s serenata Marc’Antonio e Cleopatraperformed by the Houston based ensemble Ars Lyrica. This serenata (or “serenade”), follows a love story for the ages of lovers from different worlds, loyal to their countries, but more loyal to each others love.

Founded in 1998 by harpsichordist and conductor Matthew Dirst, ARS LYRICA HOUSTON has begun to make a name for itself in the international early music community. Its distinctive programming favors little-known dramatic and chamber works that merit revival, and its home series “sets the agenda for imaginative period-instrument programming in Houston,” according to the Houston Chronicle. Ars Lyrica’s numerous premières include the first American performance of Handel’s Il Trionfo del Tempo e della Verità and local premières of Jacopo Peri’s Euridice, John Blow’s Venus and Adonis, Handel’s Flavio, and Monteverdi’s 1610 Vespers, among other works. These pioneering efforts have begun to attract international attention: Gramophone recently praised Ars Lyrica’s debut CD (on the Naxos label) for its “exemplary skill and taste,” the ensemble’s musicians for their “impassioned performance” of never-before recorded works by Alessandro Scarlatti.



Ars Lyrica Houston
Jamie Barton, mezzo-soprano
Ava Pine, soprano
Matthew Dirst, artistic director, conductor


Johann Adolf Hasse


1-2. Sinfonia: Spirituso e Staccato-Allegro-Grazioso
3. Recitativo: Da quel salso elemento
4. Aria (Marc'Antonio): Pur ch'io possa a te
5. Recit: Signor, la tua sciagura
6. Aria (Cleopatra): Morte col fiero aspetto
7. Recit: Or che la mia fortuna
8. Aria (Marc'Antonio): Fra le pompe peregrine
9. Recit: Si, mel rammento, o caro
10. Aria (Cleopatra): Un sol tuo sospiro
11. Recit: Cosi rupido fugge e vola il tempo
12. Duetto (Marc'Antonio & Cleopatra): Attendi ad amarmi
1. Recit: Signor, la tua speranza
2. Aria (Cleopatra): A Dio Trono, impero a Dio
3. Recit: Ah, tolga il ciel, mia cara
4. Aria (Marc'Antonio): Come veder potrei
5. Recit: Lascia, Antonio, deh lascia
6. Aria (Cleopatra): Quel candido armellino
7. Recit: L'eroico tuo coraggio
8. Aria (Marc'Antonio): La tra i mirti degl'Elisi
9. Recit: Poiche la morte sola
10. Duetto (Marc'Antonio & Cleopatra): Bella etade avventurosa

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.