for updates and
exclusive offers
Russian Viola Sonatas

Show Picture 1Show Picture 2

Russian Viola Sonatas

Russian Viola Sonatas
Artist: Eliesha Nelson & Glen Inanga
Genre: Instrumental
Price: $15.99 
In stock

Multi-GRAMMY® nominated violist Eliesha Nelson teams up with pianist Glen Inanga to present a unique and eclectic program of early 20th century Russian viola masterworks— bridging pre-Revolutionary Russian viola pieces and early Soviet period compositions with 2 world premiere recordings. Russian Viola Sonatas is the next in a series of recordings from Ms. Nelson, exploring important, significant and compelling viola literature not commonly heard on other releases. No other recording in the marketplace combines this unique literature on one release.

The album begins with a world premiere recording of “Suite for Viola and Piano, Op. 8” by Varvara Gaigerova. Gaigerova (1903-1944) was the first significant Soviet woman composer. A graduate of the Moscow Conservatory, she studied with Neuhaus, Catoire and Myaskovsky. Stylistically, the music is a blend of Romanticism with Scribinesque modernism. This piece is followed by the very rarely recorded “Sonata for Viola and Piano, Op. 15” by Paul Juon (1872-1940). Another Moscow Conservatory graduate, Juon studied with Arensky and Taneyev. From 1905 he lived in Berlin and Switzerland. He was known as the “Russian Brahms”. His single viola sonata from 1901 is an excellent example of his stylistic blend of Brahmsian romanticism with Russian elements. The album concludes with another world premiere recording; Alexander Winkler’s “Sonata 0p. 10”. Winkler (1865-1935) was trained in Russia, France and Austria. He was Prokofiev’s teacher and after 1924 head of the Besançon Conservatory. Considered a gifted and significant member of the so-called “Belyayev Circle”, Winkler collaborated with Glazunov, Lyadov and Rimsky-Korsakov.


Eliesha Nelson, viola
Glen Inanga, piano


Varvara Gaigernova
Alexander Winkler
Paul Juon

Suite for Viola and Piano, Opus 8 - Varvara Gaigerova
1. I. Allegro agitato
2. II. Andantino
3. III. Scherzo: Presto
4. IV. Moderato

Two Pieces for Viola and Piano, Opus 31 - Alexander Winkler
5. I. Méditation élégiaque (Andante mesto poco mosso)
6. II. La toupie: scène d’enfant: Scherzino (Allegro vivace)

Sonata in D Major for Viola and Piano, Opus 15 - Paul Juon
7. I. Moderato
8. II. Adagio assai e molto cantabile
9. III. Allegro moderato

Sonata in C minor for Viola and Piano, Opus 10 - Alexander Winkler
10. I. Moderato
11. II. Allegro agitato (attaca)
12. III. L’istesso tempo ma poco rubato
IV. Variations sur un air breton
13. Thème: Andante
14. Variation 1: L’istesso tempo poco rubato
15. Variation 2: Allegretto
16. Variation 3: Allegro patetico
17. Variation 4: Andante molto espressivo
18. Variation 5: Allegro con fuoco
19. Variation 6: Andante sostenuto
20. Variation 7: Fuga (Allegro moderato)
21. Coda: Poco più animato – Maestoso pesante

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.