for updates and
exclusive offers
The Kingdoms of Castille

Show Picture 1Show Picture 2

The Kingdoms of Castille

The Kingdoms of Castille
Artist: El Mundo
Genre: Chamber
Price: $15.99 
In stock

Travel across Europe and even to the New World as we follow the spread of the music of Spain in the second release from early music ensemble El Mundo, directed by world renowned guitarist Richard Savino. An adventure of sound awaits as the Castilian influence reaches throughout it’s neighboring countries and across the Atlantic, bringing with it a musical zest that helped mold music as we know it.

Spanish arts, and music in particular, have evolved through the interaction and blend of the many unique cultures from within its borders, the most prominent of which are Christian, Arabic, Jewish, and Romani (Gitano/Gypsy). By the 17th century additional contributions from indigenous New World influences helped create a fertile environment for an emerging nationalist style in the arts, one that was uniquely Hispanic and still exists to this day.

From its position of political prominence 17th-century Spain spread its might, as well as rich culture heritage, to various colonial outposts throughout the globe. Musicians migrated to distant colonial centers to service Catholic missions and cathedrals, as well as the courts of the Spanish Vice Royalty. In the process the Spanish musical vernacular was disseminated to, and often absorbed by these local cultures. This recording presents a selection of works demonstrating the rich musical repertoire and close cultural connections between Spain, and the most important of these, those located in Latin America and Italy.


El Mundo
Richard Savino, director


Domenico Scarlatti
Francesco Manelli
Georg Frederich Handel
José Marin
Juan Hidalgo
Domenico Mazzocchi
Andrea Falconieri
Rafael Castellanos
José de Orejón y Aparicio
Juan Arañes Domenico

1) Symphonia para empezar - Domenico Scarlatti - 2:39
2) Acceso mio core (ciaconna) - Francesco Manelli - 2:36

Cantata a voce sola con chitarra Espagnola - Georg Frederich Handel
3) Aria - 2:34
4) Recitative - 0:51
5) Aria - 2:08

6) Sdegno campion audace - Domenico Mazzocchi - 2:37
7) Coraçon que en prision - José Marín - 3:33
8) Folia (Spain) - Anonymous - 7:05
9) Esperar sentir morir - Juan Hidalgo - 3:24
10) Ciaconna - Andre Falconieri - 2:57
11) No se yo como es - José Marín - 3:53
12) Brando dicho el melo - Andre Falconieri - 1:48
13) Corriente dicha la Cuella - Andre Falconieri - 1:14
14) Corriente dicha la Mota, echa por Don Pedro de la Mota - Andre Falconieri - 1:11
15) Ausente del alma - Rafael Castellanos - 5:08
16) Oygan una Xacarilla - Rafael Castellanos - 4:49

A del dia de la fiesta (Peru) - José de Orejón y Aparicio
17) Aria - 3:03
18) Recitative - 0:37
19) Aria - 4:35

20) Parten la galeras - Juan Arañes - 5:19

San Ignacio (an excerpt) - Domenico Zipoli
21) No. 1 Symphonia/Intro: fine - 1:33
22) No. 2 Arioso: ¡Ay! Que tormento - 0:58
23) No. 3 Aria: Oh, vida cuanto duras - 5:01
24) No. 5 Arioso: ¡Oh! Que contento - 0:44
25) No. 6 Aria: Cuanto Fui, soy y sere - 3:07
26) No. 7 Arioso: ¡Oh! Que contento - 0:52

Total Time - 74:28

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.