for updates and
exclusive offers
Sonatas for Two Cellos, Book 1: Jean Baptiste Masse

Sonatas for Two Cellos, Book 1: Jean Baptiste Masse

Sonatas for Two Cellos, Book 1: Jean Baptiste Masse
Artist: Brandywine Baroque
Genre: Solo Instrumental, Instrumental
Regular Price: $15.99
 On Sale For: $7.99 

In stock
Jean Baptiste Joseph Masse (c.1700s-c.1757) Ordinaire de la Chambre du Roi and member of the King's Bande of Twenty-Four Violins, as well as member of the orchestra of Comédie Française, was a French composer and violoncellist in the court of Louis XV.   He published five volumes of sonatas.   Books I, II and V are for two cellos and basso continuo.   Books III and IV are for two cellos without a figured bass.
 -Karen Flint

Douglas McNames, Violoncello
Vivian Barton, Violoncello
Karen Flint, Harpsichord


Jean Baptiste Masse

Sonata I in C Major
1. Andante
2. Allegro ma non presto
3. Aria I & II: gratioso
4. Minuetto

Sonata II in D Major
5. Capricio Presto, Adagio
6. Allegro ma non Presto
7. Aria I & II: gratioso
8. Allegro

Sonata III in A Minor
9. Andante
10. Vivace
11. Sarabanda
12. Allegro

Sonata IV in E Minor
13. Largo
14. Allegro
15. Aria: gratioso
16. Giga Presto

Sonata V in B-flat Major
17. Andante un poco Vivace
18. Allegro ma non Presto
19. Largo
20. Presto

Sonata VI in G Minor
21. Capricio presto, Adagio: Andante
22. Andante Larghetto dolce et Lourée
23. Sarabanda
24. Aria I & II 3:24

Total Program Length: 59:04

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.