for updates and
exclusive offers
Max Reger: Complete op. 9 Sonata for Unaccompanied Violin

Max Reger: Complete op. 9 Sonata for Unaccompanied Violin

Max Reger: Complete op. 9 Sonata for Unaccompanied Violin
Artist: Ulrike-Anima Mathé
Genre: Solo Instrumental, Multi-Disc
Price: $19.99 
In stock
    Dorian Sono Lumiuns is proud to announce the remastering, repackaging, and reissue of two previously separate discs, now combined as part of our “Best of Dorain” series into one great value priced package. The Complete Opus 91 Sonatas for Unaccompanied Violin of Max Reger demonstrate some of the finest virtuosic writing for unaccompanied violin, matched here with the brilliant playing of master violinist Ulrike-Anima Mathé.     One of the most misunderstood of all composers, Max Reger may well be due for a major revival. One of the last great Romantics, he also served as a bridge between the 18th and 20th centuries. Like Brahms, he was greatly influenced by the structural power of earlier music, especially that of Bach.     Reger’s little-known works for unaccompanied violin are a direct continuation of the tradition established with Bach in his monumental Sonatas and Partitas. They are works of formidable complexity, yet of an almost awe-inspiring purity of vision, beauty of execution and expressive dignity. Each movement is a contrapuntal masterpiece. Try to imagine a fusion of Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas with the harmonies of a Mahler symphony, and you have a pretty good idea of this amazing music. Of the seven sonatas in Reger’s Op. 91 (published 1905), three are presented on the present recording, including the Seventh which culminates in a Chaconne of vast proportions and power.     Reger’s solo violin sonatas are among the most demanding works ever composed for violin - an incredible challenge both technically and artistically (which may explain why so few players have dared approach these works). Fortunately, Dorian found a superlative artist for the release. Ulrike-Anima Mathé, laureate of the Queen Elizabeth Violin Competition in Brussels, winner of Grand Prizes in the European Violin Competition in Vienna and the National Young Artists Competition in Germany, and protegee of the late Rudolf Serkin, combines power and sensitivity, color and structural cohesiveness in perfect balance. The then twenty-eight year old virtuoso navigates these works with flawless mastery, and an unerring flair for catching the emotional and spiritual core of these works, while producing a tone so beautiful as to inspire comparison with artists of the stature of a Milstein, a Rabin or perhaps even a Stem. With this landmark set of releases, Ms Mathe made her mark as one of the most exciting and significant young musicians on the scene.

Ulrike-Anima Mathe


Max Reger

Disc 1

Sonata in D Major, Op. 91, No. 2
1. Allegro Moderato
2. Larghetto
3. Vivacissimo

Sonata in B Minor, Op. 91, No. 4
4. Allegro Energico
5. Larghetto
6. Vivace (Scherzo)
7. Allegro Energico

Sonata in A Minor, Op. 91, No. 7
8. Allegro Energico
9. Vivace (Scherzo)
10. Grave (Chaconne)

Disc 2

Sonata in A Minor, Op. 91, No. 1
1. Grave (Ma Con Moto)
2. Vivace
3. Andante Sostenuto
4. Allegro Energico

Sonata in B-Flat Major, Op. 91, No. 3
5. Allegro Moderato
6. Prestissimo (Scherzo)
7. Vivace

Sonata in E Minor, Op. 91, No. 5
8. Allegro Moderato
9. Con Moto
10. Larghetto
11. Allegro Energico

Sonata in G Major, Op. 91, No. 6
12. Allegro Commodo
13. Allegretto (Quasi Andante)
14. Andante
15. Vivacissimo

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.