for updates and
exclusive offers
Die schöne Müllerin

Die schöne Müllerin

Die schöne Müllerin
Artist: John Elwes and Kenneth Slowik
Genre: Vocal
Price: $15.99 
In stock
An exciting rendition of Franz Schubert's first song cycle using the beautiful Graf fortepiano from the Smithsonian's collection of musical instruments; the type of instrument for which the piece was intended.
This story of blighted youth is especially rich, it tells what happens when idealistic immature notions of love taken from fiction are blasted by the grittier realities of life. Die schone Mullerin is a sequence of individual songs, which are linked in various ways by a narrative, by a unifying poetic theme, by a single poet, by musical means, or some combination of these elements.
Filled with nuances, such as the athleticism of the first vocal phrase to convey the youth's energy and freshness of purpose, Schubert breaks open the music in startling rapture with any and all classical notions of song form.
This song cycle is a masterpiece of Shakespearean depth and complexity.
John Elwes and Kenneth Slowik are at their best!

John Elwes, tenor
Kenneth Slowik, fortepiano


Franz Schubert
1. Das Wandern/ Roaming
2. Wohin?/ Whither?
3. Halt/Halt
4. Dansagung an Den Back/ Thanks to the Brook
5. Am Feirabend/ In the Evening
6. Der Neugierige/ Eager Questioner
7. Ungeduld/ Impatience
8. Morgengruss/ Morning Greetings
9. Des Mullers Blumen/The Miller’s Flowers
10. Tranenregen/ Rain of Tears
11. Mein/ Mine
12. Pause/ Interlude
13. Mit dem Grunen Lautenbande/ With a Green Lute Ribbon
14. Der Jager/ The Hunter
15. Eifersucht und Stolz/ Jealousy and Pride
16. Die Liebe Farbe/ The Good Color
17. Die Bose Farbe/The Evil Color
18. Trock’ne Blumen/ Dry Flowers
19. Der Muller und der / The Miller and the Brook
20. Des Baches Wiegenlied/ The Brook’s Lullaby

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.