for updates and
exclusive offers
J.S. Bach - Secular Cantatas, Vol. 1

J.S. Bach - Secular Cantatas, Vol. 1

J.S. Bach - Secular Cantatas, Vol. 1
Artist: Les Violons du Roy
Genre: Orchestral
Price: $15.99 
In stock
Music history has not always been kind to Bach's secular cantatas, and only in recent decades, with some major revisions to conventional views of Bach's style, have works like Coffee Cantata and Peasant Cantata assumed their rightful places in the oeuvre.   The image of Bach that developed in Germany following the Bach revival of the early nineteenth century has proved remarkably tenacious: even today, the Romantic image of Bach as sober, learned, and religious makes the secular cantatas something of a problem, even an embarrassment, for musicians uneasy at the thought of the Great Composer paying homage to minor court officials or imitating comic opera.   One can imagine the reluctance with which the old Bach-Gesellschaft must have admitted this line from the Coffee Cantata into the canon: "If, three times a day I don't drink my bowl of coffee, then in agony I'll wither like a dried out chunk of roasted goat!"
- Kevin Bazzana

Dorothea Röschmann, Soprano
Hugues Saint-Gelais, Tenor
Kevin McMillan, Baritone


J.S. Bach
Serenata Durchlauchtster Leopold, BWV 173a
1. Recit: Durchlauchtster Leopold
2. Aria: Güldner Sonnen frohe Stunden
3. Aria: Leopolds Vortrefflichkeiten
4. Aria: Unter seinem Purpursaum
5. Recit: Durchlauchtigster, den Anhalt Vater nennt
6. Aria: So schau dies holden Tages Licht
7. Aria: Dein Name gleich der Sonnen geh
8. Chorus: Nimm auch, großer Fürst, uns auf
Schweigt stille, plaudert nicht, BWV 211
(Coffee Cantata / Cantate du café)
9. Recit: Schweigt stille, plaudert nicht
10. Aria: Hat man nicht mit seinen Kindern
11. Recit: Du böses Kind, du loses Mädchen
12. Aria: Ei ! wie schmeckt der Coffee süße
13. Recit: Wenn du mir nicht den Coffee läßt
14. Aria: Mädchen, die von harten Sinnen
15. Recit: Nun folge, was dein Vater spricht !
16. Aria: Heute noch, lieber Vater, tut es doch
17. Recit: Nun geht und sucht der alte Schlendrian
18. Chorus: Die Katze läßt das Mausen nicht
Cantate burlesque Mer hahn en neue Oberkeet, BWV 212
(Peasant Cantata / Cantate paysanne)
19. Sinfonia
20. Aria (duetto): Mer hahn en neue Oberkeet
21. Recit: Nu, Mieke, gib dein Guschel immer her !
22. Aria: Ach, es schmeckt doch gar zu gut
23. Recit: Der Herr ist gut
24. Aria: Ach, Herr Schößer, geht nicht gar zu schlimm
25. Recit: Es bleibt dabei
26. Aria: Unser trefflicher lieber Kammerherr
27. Recit: Er hilft uns allen, alt und jung
28. Aria: Das ist galant
29. Recit: Und unsre gnädge Frau
30. Aria: Fünfzig Taler bares Geld
31. Recit: Im Ernst ein Wort !
32. Aria: Klein-Zschocher müsse
33. Recit: Das ist zu klug für dich
34. Aria col Corne de Chasse: Es nehme zehntausend Dukaten
35. Recit: Das klingt zu liederlich
36. Aria: Gib, Schöne
37. Recit: Du hast wohl recht
38. Aria:Dein Wachstum sei feste
39. Recit: Und damit sei es auch genung
40. Aria: Und daß ihrs alle wißt
41. Recit: Mein Schatz ! erraten !
42. Chor: Wir gehn nun, wo der Tudelsack

Product Rating: (0.00)   # of Ratings: 0   (Only registered customers can rate)

There are no comments for this product.